‘Prohibited by law’: Britons can’t enter some green list countries – entry requirements

Traffic light system 'to stay for three weeks' says Shapps

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The Government says Britons can go to Austria, but Austria is not letting Britons in. The green list update may have been good news for some, however, it is only one side of the picture, and Britons looking to go on holiday may run into trouble if only looking at the British Government advice.

It’s an announcement many Britons were waiting for: the expansion of the green list countries.

While travelling back from a green list country isn’t hassle-free, those are the places with the least amount of bother for an overseas getaway this summer.

Before coming back to the UK from a green list country, tourists aged 11 and over need to take a Covid test, complete a passenger locator form and book and pay for a Day Two Covid test.

No quarantine and only two Covid tests requirements mean that green list countries really are the safest – and easiest – places to travel to this summer.

But while Britons will have a relatively hassle-free return to the UK, how easy is it to enter the green list countries in the first place?

READ MORE: Holiday bookings surge as Britons rush to green list destinations

Which countries allow UK tourists?
Most countries will require a negative test, proof of vaccination and the completion of Government forms.

Fully vaccinated tourists can enter Germany without any restrictions and for any purpose.
Unvaccinated children under 12 are allowed in the country with a negative test if they travel with at least one fully vaccinated parent.

Tourists over 12 need a negative PCR test, taken no earlier than 72 hours before boarding or before crossing the Latvian border, or an antigen test, taken not earlier than 48 hours before boarding or before crossing the Latvian border.

Fully vaccinated travellers can enter the country, but need to show proof of a negative test.

Travellers need to show one of the following: proof of vaccination (each vaccine has a different rule, so Britons should check the Government website), a PCR test no older than 72 hours or an antigen test no older than 48 hours.


Fully vaccinated travellers can enter the country as long as 10 days has passed since their final dose of a Covid vaccine.

Every tourist from the UK needs to present a negative Covid test, even fully vaccinated travellers. A PCR test cannot be older than 72 hours, while an antigen test needs to be within 48 hours.

A Covid-19 Lateral Flow Test is required for those arriving by air from the UK. Travellers can book a free test.

Madeira (Portugal)
A RT-PCR test and proof of vaccination are needed to go to Madeira.

Travellers need proof of vaccination, but not all proofs are accepted.
“If you live in England, Malta will accept the NHS COVID Pass (both the digital and letter versions) as proof of your vaccination status. If you live in Wales, Malta will accept your NHS letter. If you live in Northern Ireland, Malta will accept the interim proof of vaccination document which is valid until 11:59pm on 31 July (but not digital versions) and if you live in Scotland, Malta will accept your letter (but not digital versions).”

Britons need to show proof they have been fully vaccinated or have previously recovered from Covid.

European countries on the Green List with closed borders or quarantine requirements

  • Austria
  • Norway
  • Bulgaria
  • Faroe Island (Denmark)
  • Norway
  • Falkland Islands

Full Green List From August 8

  • Anguilla (Green Watchlist)
  • Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory (Green Watchlist)
  • Antigua and Barbuda (Green Watchlist)
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Barbados (Green Watchlist)
  • Bermuda (Green Watchlist)
  • British Indian Ocean Territory (Green Watchlist)
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cayman Islands (Green Watchlist)
  • Croatia (Green Watchlist)
  • Dominica (Green Watchlist)
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada (Green Watchlist)
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem (Green Watchlist)
  • Latvia
  • Madeira (Green Watchlist) – Mainland Portugal and the Azores are on the amber list
  • Malta
  • Montserrat (Green Watchlist)
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green Watchlist)
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Taiwan (Green Watchlist)
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (Green Watchlist)

Source: Read Full Article