Sun Country Airlines Announces Largest Expansion in its History

Sun Country Airlines has announced its largest-ever route expansion, adding 19 seasonal nonstop routes and seven airports.

The expansion includes eight new nonstop routes from the low-cost carrier’s hub at Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport. Sun Country is also adding multiple new routes from Dallas/Fort Worth, Las Vegas, Nashville and Portland, Oregon.

New destinations include Chicago O’Hare; Newark Liberty; Philadelphia; Sacramento, California; San Antonio; Providence, Rhode Island and Washington Dulles.

The expansion increases Sun Country’s routes served by almost 40 percent since June 2018 with 86 routes across 53 airports.

“Today is a very exciting day in the history of Sun Country as we make this tremendous step forward in growing our airline,” Sun Country Airlines CEO Jude Bricker said in a statement. “This network expansion allows us to provide even more destination options to our community, create new jobs in the Twin Cities market and further our reach across the country.”

Sun Country boasts a fleet of about 30 aircraft. A spokesperson for the airline told the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal that the carrier has no plans to drop existing routes and that a 10 percent increase in workers and increased usage of its current fleet will make the expansion possible.

Sun Country plans to hire 200 additional employees in 2019—including 100 flight attendants—and add anywhere from three to six planes to its fleet each year moving forward.

Here’s the list of new routes announced Tuesday:

Minneapolis/St. Paul:

—Chicago O’Hare: Service begins April 19.

—Newark Liberty: Service begins April 11.

—Philadelphia: Service begins April 18.

—Providence, Rhode Island: Service begins April 8.

—Sacramento, California: Service begins May 23.

—St. Louis: Service begins June 13.

—San Antonio: Service begins May 23.

—Washington Dulles: Service begins April 25.


—Los Angeles: Service begins April 8.

—Portland, Oregon: Service begins May 2.

—Providence, Rhode Island: Service begins April 8.

Dallas/Fort Worth:

—Montego Bay, Jamaica: Service begins May 24.

—St. Kitts and Nevis: Service begins May 25.

—Phoenix and Palm Springs, California: Service begins February 6.

Las Vegas:

—Anchorage, Alaska: Service begins May 18.

—Cabo San Lucas/Los Cabos, Mexico: Service begins June 6.

—Puerto Vallarta, Mexico: Service begins June 7.

Portland, Oregon:

—Nashville: Service begins May 2.

—St. Louis: Service begins June 7.

—San Antonio: Service begins June 5.

San Francisco:

—Honolulu: Service begins May 18.

Source: Read Full Article