Australia travel: Country closed til mid-2022 at least

Grant Shapps reveals countries on UK's red and green lists

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Those hoping to travel to the area will be waiting for a much longer time than they may have hoped. The news comes after claims Australian borders might open in October this year.

However, supply issues holding back Australia’s vaccine process have pushed the timeline back.

Australia’s politicians have been quick to close borders and firm about protecting the country and its citizens.

Swift and decisive moves have kept the country relatively COVID-19 free.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison told Australians borders would be closed “indefinitely” this weekend.

He said: “We sit here as an island that’s living like few countries in the world are at the moment.

“We have to be careful not to exchange that way of life for what everyone else has.”

This news comes as New Zealand and Australia were placed on the green list for British travel.

The country was put on the UK’s green list despite UK arrivals being unable to enter the country.

Portugal, France, Spain and Greece FCDO update [HOLIDAYS] 
Package holidays: easyJet, Jet2, TUI & BA latest updates [RULES] 
British Airways warns holidaymakers travel is STILL illegal [WARNING] 

FCDO also said entry to Australia is “currently closed to most arrivals”.

The site added: “All international travellers entering Australia need to undertake a mandatory 14-day quarantine at a designated facility (for example a hotel) at their port of arrival.

“You may be required to pay for the costs of your quarantine.

“This is arranged by individual State and Territory governments.”

So what countries are on the green list?

  • Portugal
  • Israel
  • Singapore
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Brunei
  • Iceland
  • Gibraltar
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island

What does this mean?

Britons returning from green list countries will not need to quarantine on return.

The UK Government has sorted other countries into amber and red lists.

Red list countries face the most restrictions.

Source: Read Full Article