Where can I go on holiday now? The 12 destinations on the green list

Green list: Expert predicts Malta and Finland may be added

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

International travel is possible again and the Government has split countries into three categories – green, amber and red. What you must do when you arrive in England from abroad depends on where you have been in the 10 days… which list is it in? Express.co.uk reveals where you can go on holiday right now.

Where can I go on holiday now?

The UK Government is advising against travel to every country that is not on the green list.

Recreational international trips such as holidays abroad aren’t illegal in England and there are no fines or penalties for those who do travel to red or amber list countries.

However, Prime Minister Boris Johnson has said that Brits shouldn’t be holidaying in amber or red countries.

He said during Prime Minister’s Questions on May 19: “It is very, very clear – you should not be going to an amber list country except for some extreme circumstance, such as the serious illness of a family member.

“You should not be going to an amber list country on holiday.”

At present, there are only 12 destinations on the green list. They are:

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)
  • Singapore
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

The green list was due to be updated on June 3 and Brits were hopeful that more countries would be added to the list.

However, it’s expected that no new countries will be added to the green list.

Portugal will be taken off the green list and moved to the amber list as of June 10 at 4am, according to reports.

If you need to travel abroad to visit friends or family who live in a country on the amber list, you can still do so.

You’ll need to follow the rules of the country and then quarantine for 10 days and have two coronavirus tests when you return.

The amber list is extremely long so you should assume a country is on this list if it is not on the green or red lists.

You should not be travelling to red list countries at all.

There are 43 countries on this list. They are:

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Source: Read Full Article