The Tube map that shows every single abandoned ‘GHOST STATION’

Tunnel into the past! From ‘British Museum’ to ‘Down Street’, the fascinating London Underground map that shows every single abandoned ‘GHOST STATION’

  • It has been created by Franklin Jarrier, who names the ‘ghost stations’ and indicates the date they closed
  • His map shows the actual layout of the Tube’s various tracks, as well as the overground lines 
  • One former station that shut in 1934 – Brompton Road – is now used by the Ministry of Defence 

There are 49 abandoned stations on the London Underground network – and they have all been detailed on a fascinating map of it.

It has been created by Franklin Jarrier, who not only names these ‘ghost stations’ – marked in grey on the map – but indicates the date they closed.

What’s more, his map shows the actual layout of the Tube’s various tracks and shows the overground network, too, along with its abandoned stations. The level of detail is astonishing – even platform numbers are pinpointed.

There are 49 abandoned stations on the London Underground network – and they have all been detailed on a fascinating map. The abandoned stations are marked in grey and on this central London section include Down Street, Brompton Road and Aldwych on the Piccadilly Line, British Museum on the Central Line and City Road on the Northern Line

There are 49 abandoned stations on the London Underground network – and they have all been detailed on a fascinating map. The abandoned stations are marked in grey and on this central London section include Down Street, Brompton Road and Aldwych on the Piccadilly Line, British Museum on the Central Line and City Road on the Northern Line

In this section of the map abandoned stations such as St Mary's, which closed in 1938, and Shoreditch, which closed in 1940, are indicated. St Mary's station was destroyed by a bomb during the Second World War

In this section of the map abandoned stations such as St Mary’s, which closed in 1938, and Shoreditch, which closed in 1940, are indicated. St Mary’s station was destroyed by a bomb during the Second World War

Inside Brompton Road Underground station, which closed in 1934. It was sold to the War Office in 1938

Inside Brompton Road Underground station, which closed in 1934. It was sold to the War Office in 1938

Inside York Road on the Piccadilly line. It was closed on September 17, 1932, because of the low volume of passengers that used it

Inside York Road on the Piccadilly line. It was closed on September 17, 1932, because of the low volume of passengers that used it

more videos

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

    • Watch video

      Domestic Reduced Vertical Separation Minimum captured on camera


    • Watch video

      Ride London’s Mail Rail at The Postal Museum


    • Watch video

      Audience member slapped for criticising Down’s syndrome son


    • Watch video

      President Trump thanks Hurricane Florence first responders


    • Watch video

      California surgeon and woman accused with drugging multiple woman


    • Watch video

      Trump visits North Carolina as thousands of homes remain submerged


    • Watch video

      Captain Cook’s HMS Endeavour found off the coast of America


    • Watch video

      Yavapai County Sheriff’s Office volunteer saves dog tied to truck


    • Watch video

      Moment woman walks straight through ‘invisible’ glass door


    • Watch video

      Tesco CEO says new store Jack’s is built on talking to customers


    • Watch video

      Waterfall on Mallerstang Edge in Cumbria inverted by strong winds


    • Watch video

      Ex-Masterchef star James Close gives a tour of The Raby Hunt

    Transport for London (TfL) explains that the abandoned stations – some of which have vanished without trace, some of which are still intact – were closed for a range of reasons, from lines being rerouted to low passenger numbers.

    For instance Blake Hall on the Central Line was estimated to have only 17 passengers when it closed in 1981.

    Many of these stations have fascinating histories.

    Mummy mia! The map shows how the Central Line used to have a British Museum stop, but it was closed in 1933. It was shut and replaced by Holborn nearby, which provided an interchange with the Piccadilly line. Before this passengers were having to walk at street level to change lines

    Mummy mia! The map shows how the Central Line used to have a British Museum stop, but it was closed in 1933. It was shut and replaced by Holborn nearby, which provided an interchange with the Piccadilly line. Before this passengers were having to walk at street level to change lines

    Tracking the past: Here closed stations Mildmay Park and Newington Road & Balls Pond are indicated

    Tracking the past: Here closed stations Mildmay Park and Newington Road & Balls Pond are indicated

    South London used to have a Camberwell station and a Walworth Road station

    South London used to have a Camberwell station and a Walworth Road station

    Transport for London (TfL) explains that the abandoned stations – some of which have vanished without trace, some of which are still intact - were closed for a range of reasons, from lines being rerouted to low passenger numbers. For instance Blake Hall on the Central Line was estimated to have only 17 passengers when it closed in 1981

    Transport for London (TfL) explains that the abandoned stations – some of which have vanished without trace, some of which are still intact – were closed for a range of reasons, from lines being rerouted to low passenger numbers. For instance Blake Hall on the Central Line was estimated to have only 17 passengers when it closed in 1981

    Gloom with a view: Inside South Kentish Underground station, which was closed on June 5, 1924. This station closed through lack of use

    Gloom with a view: Inside South Kentish Underground station, which was closed on June 5, 1924. This station closed through lack of use

    Many stations were used as shelters for the public during the Second World War, even if they had already been closed for service – City Road for example.

    Others acted as decampment areas for both the London Passenger Transport Board Head Office staff and the government.

    Down Street was fitted out as an underground office facility complete with telephone lines and even played host to a meeting of the War Cabinet at 20 minutes notice, TfL said.

    And British Prime Minister Winston Churchill took refuge in the station tunnels during the Blitz. 

    One, Brompton Road, was sold to the War Office in 1938 and is still used by the Ministry of Defence today.

    A general view of a stairway in the Down Street underground station. Down Street station in Mayfair operated between 1907 and 1932 and after closing, played an important part during the Second World War when it was transformed into the Railway Executive Committee's bomb proof shelter

    A general view of a stairway in the Down Street underground station. Down Street station in Mayfair operated between 1907 and 1932 and after closing, played an important part during the Second World War when it was transformed into the Railway Executive Committee’s bomb proof shelter

    The exterior of abandoned Down Street. During the height of the Blitz, British Prime Minister Winston Churchill took refuge in the station tunnels

    The exterior of abandoned Down Street. During the height of the Blitz, British Prime Minister Winston Churchill took refuge in the station tunnels

    Aldwych station (originally Strand Station), which shut in 1994, was used to house the National Gallery's collection during WWI

    Aldwych station (originally Strand Station), which shut in 1994, was used to house the National Gallery’s collection during WWI

    In more recent years, TfL reveals, Aldwych, pictured, has doubled up as a filming location for productions as diverse as The Prodigy's Firestarter music video, Superman 4 and zombie movie 28 Weeks Later

    In more recent years, TfL reveals, Aldwych, pictured, has doubled up as a filming location for productions as diverse as The Prodigy’s Firestarter music video, Superman 4 and zombie movie 28 Weeks Later

    Stations have also played a part in Britain’s cultural life.

    Aldwych station (originally Strand Station), for example, which shut in 1994, was used to house the National Gallery’s collection during WWI and British Museum artefacts (including the Elgin Marbles), during WWII.

    In more recent years, TfL reveals, Aldwych has doubled up as a filming location for productions as diverse as The Prodigy’s Firestarter music video, Superman 4 and zombie movie 28 Weeks Later.

    • For more information on abandoned Tube stations click here and visit www.abandonedstations.org.uk.

    more videos

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3

      • Watch video

        Domestic Reduced Vertical Separation Minimum captured on camera


      • Watch video

        Ride London’s Mail Rail at The Postal Museum


      • Watch video

        Audience member slapped for criticising Down’s syndrome son


      • Watch video

        President Trump thanks Hurricane Florence first responders


      • Watch video

        California surgeon and woman accused with drugging multiple woman


      • Watch video

        Trump visits North Carolina as thousands of homes remain submerged


      • Watch video

        Captain Cook’s HMS Endeavour found off the coast of America


      • Watch video

        Yavapai County Sheriff’s Office volunteer saves dog tied to truck


      • Watch video

        Moment woman walks straight through ‘invisible’ glass door


      • Watch video

        Tesco CEO says new store Jack’s is built on talking to customers


      • Watch video

        Waterfall on Mallerstang Edge in Cumbria inverted by strong winds


      • Watch video

        Ex-Masterchef star James Close gives a tour of The Raby Hunt

       

      Source: Read Full Article