Holidays abroad MAPPED: Where can Brits go on holiday now? Latest travel advice

Summer was put on hold in the UK after months of lockdown and restrictions on travel. With the economy slowly getting back on track, flights abroad are once more taking off, and Brits are able to go on holiday.

Popular destinations like Spain, France, Portugal and Turkey have now reopened to travellers.

Britons can now travel abroad for holidays if they wish, but must bear in mind any restrictions the country they are travelling to may have.

This includes wearing masks in public, curfews, temperature checks upon arrival and more.

Check on the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) website here for advice relevant to the country you are visiting.

Read More: Spain lockdown: Will the air bridge with Spain be scrapped?


  • Holidays: Center Parcs slashes all UK holiday prices for 2020

Upon arriving in Spain for example, you don’t have to quarantine upon arrival but you will have to:

  • Provide the Spanish Ministry of Health with mandatory contact information and any history of exposure to COVID-19 48 hours prior to travel
  • Temperature check
  • Undergo a visual health assessment

Travelling itself is now facing an overhaul, with masks mandatory onboard aeroplanes and social distancing in place where possible.

You are strongly advised to check in online, and when in the airport pay by contactless card.

Check the map on this page – created by insurance comparison site Safe – to see where you can travel to on holiday now.

However, there are some countries off limits, with borders closed and entry to non-residents banned.

Holiday snub: Ireland reveals destination ‘green list’ [INSIGHT]
Hand luggage: Three key items to pack this summer or risk fines [EXPLAINED]
France holidays: FCO travel update as France issues tougher rules [ANALYSIS]


  • Pound to euro exchange rate: Sterling remains ‘modestly higher’

Countries you can’t visit in Europe

Armenia – Most foreign nationals who have journeyed from or via countries with outbreaks of coronavirus within 14 days of travelling cannot enter Armenia. This includes the UK.

Georgia: UK travellers are banned from travelling to Georgia.

The Georgian government has announced the border will not open in July, pushing back it opening until at least August.

Moldova: Travellers who don’t have Moldovan residency are not allowed to enter Moldova.

Romania: Direct flights between Romania and the UK have been suspended for the foreseeable future.

Countries you can’t visit in North America

The United States: A travel ban is in place across the whole of the United States.

The US has also extended its travel ban to include Ireland and the UK, and any travellers will be denied entry.

Canada: Canada has closed its borders to almost all foreign visitors, including those travelling from the UK.

The Canadian government is still warning against all but essential travel out of the country, and it is unknown when borders will reopen again.

The border between the US and Canada is also closed to all but essential journeys.

Canada is included on the list of permitted travel locations from the FCO but currently, any tourists will be denied entry.

Source: Read Full Article