Full list of EU countries to charge for roaming as Vodafone brings back fee

EU roaming charges are coming back.

Vodafone is one of the providers to bring back the fees as it will begin charging £2 a day for new and existing customers.

From next year, customers will be paying the charge in roaming fees within 49 destinations across Europe.

Mobile firms were previously banned from charging extra fees to use your UK allowance while holidaying in the EU.

But now the Brexit transition is over, this no longer applies.

The network provider says its new roaming fees will kick in from January 6, 2022, and it'll apply to new and existing customers.

Customers will be able to slash roaming costs to £1 a day by buying multi-day passes.

An eight-day pass will cost £8, while a 15-day pass will set you back £15.

Meanwhile, those who sign up to Vodafone's pricier "4 Xtra" tariffs won't be affected by the changes as these deals include roaming.

If you're an existing Vodafone customer, you won't face the new charges until you upgrade your contract.

Voxi, which is owned by Vodafone, said its customers aren't impacted by the annoucement.

  • Inside 'wild' Ibiza parties as Brits dance maskless, down shots and romp in streets

Get all the biggest Lifestyle news straight to your inbox. Sign up for the free Daily Star Hot Topics newsletter

Ahmed Essam, Vodafone CEO in the UK, said: "The majority of our customers are not regular roamers.

"And the reality is that including roaming – a service that costs us money to provide – in every plan means more than half of our customers are paying for something that they don't use.

"So we think it's fairer to give people more choice over what they pay for, either opting into a price plan that includes free roaming, or paying for roaming only when they roam."

Full list of 49 places where roaming charges will apply

  • Aland Islands
  • Austria
  • Azores
  • Balearic Islands
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canary Islands
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • France (incl Corsica)
  • French Guiana
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guernsey
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madeira
  • Malta
  • Martinique
  • Mayotte
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Reunion
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • St. Barthelemy
  • St. Martin
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Vatican City

Source: Read Full Article