Air Bridge review: When is the air bridge review? Where can you go on holiday?

Air bridge reviews will evaluate the Government’s coronavirus travel policy next week. The concept introduces quarantine-less travel between two destinations, streamlining post-covid recovery in the tourist sector and giving holidaymakers a chance to escape the country. Officials have negotiated air bridges only with select nations, however, as to rescind travel measures altogether would openly court another wave of COVID-19.

When is the air bridge review?

Although currently contained in most countries, the nature of COVID-19 means it is in a state of constant flux.

The disease still exists in pockets, and could easily spread again if provoked.

As such, the Government has to evaluate which countries it can still endorse travel to every so often, and the latest review is incoming on Monday, July 27.


  • Greece holidays: Can you travel to Greece from the UK yet?

The latest review is a one-sided process conducted squarely by UK officials.

They decide where to let people travel, while other countries remain in control of the measures they impose on any incoming visitors.

On Tuesday, the Government will decide whether it will add more nations or whittle down the list.

Experts believe they will do the former, adding more destinations to the comparatively slim list they currently offer.

Where can you go on holiday?

The Government currently permits visits to a total of 59 different locations.

The Government allowed visits to each location since July 10, when it ditched rules to impose a 14-day quarantine on anyone returning to the UK.

Destinations include a swathe of British favourites, such as Greece, Spain and other parts of Europe.

Holidays: New destinations added to UK’s holiday exemption list – INSIGHT
Holidays 2020: Which countries are on next ‘air bridge’ list? – EXPLAINER
Holidays 2020: Top 10 cheapest holiday destinations with no quarantine – ANALYSIS


  • France second wave: Coronavirus panic after ‘sharp increase’ in cases

People can travel to the following countries:

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Réunion
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City
  • Vietnam

The Government may take a change of tack with its incoming review, choosing to introduce regional rather than national rules.

The plan would allow people to travel to low-risk areas in countries which may have local variations in COVID-19 caseloads.

For example, people could travel to the low-risk Algarve in Portugal, but not Lisbon, which is still on alert for COVID-19.

Ministers may also decide to introduce testing either before or on arrival to UK airports.

Source: Read Full Article