Changes to the ATAS Complaints Appeal Committee ·

Changes to the ATAS Complaints Appeal Committee

The Australian Federation of Travel Agents (AFTA) has today announced that Mr Hank Spier will take on the role of interim Chairman of the ATAS Complaints Appeal Committee (ACAC) after the departure of Mr Graham McDonald.

Mr Spier is an experienced lawyer, with a long history of being involved in corporate and consumer matters having been a former CEO of the ACCC. He is currently the Chairman of the Mortgage and Finance Association of Australia (MFAA) Tribunal and assists various industries in the competition and consumer law space via his consulting business.

The AFTA Board has also appointed Mr Mike Thompson as the second industry representative to the committee and both of these appointments take immediate effect.

A recruitment process is underway for the permanent Chairman of the ACAC.

“AFTA wishes to thank Graham McDonald for his service to AFTA and the ACAC over the past few years, his contribution has been invaluable. I believe Hank will carry forward the work of the ACAC while a permanent Chairman is found, and I expect that Hank will be a candidate for the role,” said Jayson Westbury AFTA Chief Executive.

“The work of the ACAC is critical to the operation of the ATAS scheme and we are very pleased that both Hank and Mike have agreed to join to continue the important work being undertaken by the committee,” said Westbury

The next ACAC meeting is set for the 12th of August 2019.

Source: Read Full Article